MAAMI

This poem I’m writing
I’m writing it for maami
That woman is mighty
Nobody is as virtuous as maami
Yoruba refer to her as ‘Abiyamo’
Maami; indeed you are more

L’owuro; maami is readily up
Already fending for us
Even right before the break of dawn
Yet before the crow of the cock
Yoruba call her ‘Abiyamo’
Maami; indeed you are more

When the days are cold
She covered me with her cloak
She cared less about her own
As long as I’m healthy and whole
Abiyamo; where do I start your story
Maami; precious to me you are as gold

Say your mind

